ST7 install failure and .net framework

Hello,

I'm trying to get ST7 installed on my home computer and keep running into failures during the installation process.  They seem to be pointed to .net framework.  Last night, I tried again and during the installation process I got the message ".net framework 4 full installation appears to have failed".  I've had issues with Windows Update installing updates to .net framework.  I was able to get .net 4.5 installed.  I'm no expert on this issue so should I unistall everything .net and start from scratch.  Are there risks to doing so?  I made a backup the other night and could do a restore point.

Thanks,

Kyle

Kyle Joiner
IPA LLC
ST9 MP1
3 REPLIES

Re: ST7 install failure and .net framework

[ Edited ]

I had a similar problem when upgrading one of our Windows 8.1 PC's from ST3 to ST7. I believe Solid Edge requires .NET Framework 3.5, not 4.5.

As it is an integral part of Windows, so you need to activate .NET 3.5 in Control Panel / Add Remove Programs / Turn Windows Features on or off.

In my case, a group policy setting prevented Windows Update from downloading .NET 3.5. I had to disable the GPO first: https://experts.missouristate.edu/display/csvhelpdesk/Installing+.NET+Framework+3.5+(or+older)+on+Wi...

I upgraded 16 out of our 17 PC's in 30 minutes and this last one cost me the rest of the evening Smiley Frustrated

Robin Bloemberg

Von Gahlen.

Hi Robin,

I'll take a look at my machine and check the status of .net 3.5.  The failure message I got from the ST7 installer was that .net framework 4 full failed to install.

Kyle

Kyle Joiner
IPA LLC
ST9 MP1

[ Edited ]

1.Remove the .NET Framework 1.0.3705 from the Microsoft Windows Installer cache. To do this, follow these steps:
a. Click Start, and then click Run.
b. Type Installer, and then click OK.
c. On the View menu select Details
d. Right-click the Date Modified column header.
e. Click Comments