Sweep controlled by assembly

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to Solid works, with a heavy Wildfire/Creo background.

I have a complex assembly that is constrained to allow a certain component limited motion along two arcs.  I would like to create a solid showing the area of travel possible for this component (for interference purposes).

I've been looking for ways to create a sketch projected from the component, then construct a sweep based on the assembly constraints, but I have had no luck.  

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Patrick

9 REPLIES

Re: Sweep controlled by assembly

You can try assigning a rotational motor to the component with limited angle range and check the interference directly. See this article.

Thanks Tushar, if nothing else works I will go that route.

The idea, however, is to be able to see an "interference bubble" to use when designing the surrounding components.  For that reason, a surface or solid model would be ideal.

Thanks,

Patrick

[ Edited ]

Hi Patrick:

You can use the Trace Curve program to get the curve traced by a point on the rotating comopnent and use the curve in some way to create the sweep feture.

See this post. especially message #5 by Jason Titcomb. It is a free program to create a trace curve.

~Tushar Suradkar

www.CADVertex.com

I will give that a shot.  Thanks!

[ Edited ]

The built-in Simply Motion has this ability.

Tools tab>Environs group>Motion button.

The assembly needs to be a flat structure I think.

Movie

LMGi
www.TLMGi.com

Aha, I believe this is what I need!  Once I create a number of bodies to show the interference zones, I should be able to use the Union command to join them into a single body, correct?

I'll be honest, I wasn't  sure I liked solid edge at first.  But it's growing on me...it seems like it has a lot of very useful functionality tucked away in menus I had no idea existed.

Thanks for all the help!

Patrick