Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Simulation of bipropellant rocket feedline (liquid propulsion library)

[ Edited ]

Dear people,

I am new to the amesim simulaor. I am an EE student doing a research project on control sequences according to the state of the system. The system under study is a simple bipropellant feedline. The emphasis is on control sequences rather than an accurate mechanical model. Emmanuel_D kindly helped me getting started and his suggestion based on the hydraulic library could probably work for me. However I would also like giving a shot to model a system that is closer to a bipropellant propulsion system, since it's a good opportunity to learn and I would feel like wasting the power of the software. I also found the Liquid Propulsion library which is exactly what I need.

Being an electrical guy I did some readings about those systems and basically there is two propellant tanks (oxidizer and fuel) that must be pressurized to force them out the outlets of the tanks. The pressurization is either done by a gas tank or with pumps. The two fluids are fed to a combustion chamber, and the output gas to a nozzle which generates thrust.

To start, I am trying to implement this basic operating principle. Here is my attempt so far:

Capture.PNG

For my ends, what is really important is measuring pressures at various points (binary, high or low) and the thrust produced at the nozzle (binary, high or low), as well as being able to issue control commands to open or close valves. Therefore I can abstract away the fuel pressurization part if I can, which is what I have tried to do with the two "TPFMPHS000 generic modulated pressure and density source". I believe this components will output a fluid with the index you set it to, at the given temperature and pressure.