Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

API - Export freebodies to txt

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hello, 

Here is a simple request for those well versed in FEMAP API:

Given a model database that contains a series of freebodies, export all of the freebodies and their object properties to a .txt file (or excel, or csv whatever is easier or already coded..)

If an analyst were to open a separate yet identical model database without freebodies, it is a pain to create them all again. If this data is backed up in a .txt file one should be able to re-create the freebody objects and import using the .txt file. Page 1413 of the API reference is good but I would like a simple example.

I am a Python coder and VB beginner, I just need a kick-start to at least get the objects and data structure out of Femap and into something i can work with. The re-import subroutine will be a good exercise for me.

11 REPLIES

Re: API - Export freebodies to txt

Experimenter
Experimenter

A workaround you may consider if an API is not that important:

Export your model to a Neutral file (.neu). Then in a text editor delete everything except the data blocks related to the freebodies (Data Block IDs 1070 & 1071). 

Your abridged neutral file will look something like this:

<many lines clipped>
<many lines clipped>

Now you can simply re-import the freebodies if you happen to lose them.

Experimenter
Experimenter

Nah, API is important. 

Besides, if the scope of my task is to develop tools optimizing prodictivity in stress analysis workflows, efficiency is key.

Check this attachment out... an Excel VBA FEMAP Freebody Copy / Paster. All it does is save fefreebody properties to instances of a static type in VBA.

From there, copy/paste functionality between active FEMAP sessions is merely a click of a button. From this original solution I have built it out even further... but I can't share v2.