Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

API to group only edge elements

Creator
Creator

Hello all,

I'm new to API creation. Currently working on a logic to create a group only with freeedge elements.

I'm planning to use

app.feElementFreeEdge ( elemSetID, bParabolicEdges, bLineElem, nFreeCount, nFreeData ).

As a step one, i moved all the elements based on type to group and assigned those elements to elemset.

In step 2, i have the following, but i do not know how to move forward with the output (nfreecount, nfreedata). I appreciate any kind of help

App.feElementFreeEdge(elemSet.ID,False,False,nfreecount,nfreedata)

Thank you

Krish

8 REPLIES

Re: API to group only edge elements

Legend
Legend

Dear Krish,

In step 2 you need to get elements from nfreedata, add to set and put in group.

nfreedata has format = (element1, node1A, node2A, element2, node2A, node2B, ...). It means you need to get every third element:

For i = 0 To nfreecount-1
        freeElements(i) = nfreedata(i*3)
    Next

Full example look like this. Bas file is attached:

FreeEdgesToGroup.png

Tested on small model:

free edges.png

One important moment. I copy all ids first to new array freeElements and then insert into set using AddArray for better performance.

Yarko

Creator
Creator

Awesome Yarko. Thanks a lot for the macro. I really appreciate your help

I have a one more request. I'm kind of clueless with this one.

Idea behind this macro is to add only the quad elements with an angle of more than 0 degrees between their planar faces (xy plane) to a group. My ideas..

Determine all the 4 nodes in the quad element. For each of those nodes in the element check to see if they are common to any other elements. -> i dont know how to do this. node.getallarray does not figure elements common to the node. Please recommend any function which can do that.