Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Applying a moment Directly

Creator
Creator

Hello,

Starting off with a little background, the analysis I’m attempting to run is a bolted Monopole that is about 60 ft tall subject to wind loading. Now I’m not wanting to model 60ft of pole structure otherwise I’d be waiting for the analysis to finish for days so instead i cut the pole leaving a couple of inches protruding above the weld.  I have a direct shear value I’m going to add to the pipe, with an additional moment (across the highlighted area) I’d like to add to representing the reaction the pipe provides. I'm still pretty fresh moving from Abaqus to FEMAP so I’m still learning the ends and outs. I've got the model setup with the shear loading but cannot seem to figure out the bending moment portion. Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

I have attached an image which shows the configuration along with the highlighted area representing the area which the shear and moment are to be applied to. 

-Jerod

7 REPLIES

Re: Applying a moment Directly

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom

Dear Jerod,

You can apply any loading at the surface meshing with an spider rigid RBE3 element, make sure to activate ALL the six DOFs at the DEPENDENT node (the center node). Also, make sure to activate only the translational DOFs TX, TY, TZ at the INDEPENDENT nodes.

rbe3-dof.png

rbe3.png

Best regards,
Blas.

PD
1.- To reduce the model size by a factor of 10 and increase the solution accuracy at the same time I strongly success to mesh with HEX 8-nodes elements.
2.- To learn more about RBE2/RBE3 elements visit my blog in the following address:
https://iberisa.wordpress.com/2015/10/13/rbe2-vs-rbe3-on-femap-with-nx-nastran/

Blas Molero Hidalgo, Ingeniero Industrial, Director
IBERISA • 48004 BILBAO (SPAIN)
WEB: http://www.iberisa.com
Blog Femap-NX Nastran: http://iberisa.wordpress.com/

Creator
Creator

Blas,