Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Element Coordinate System align?

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hello,

I am still a beginner in FEMAP and have a question regarding element coordinate system.

I created a 2D Quad mesh and when I display the element coordinate orientation for each element, the X & Y axes are all over the place for each element.

However when I open a FEMAP supplied example and do the above, I see that the X & Y axes are beautifully aligned respectively in same direction for all elements.

Question is, is there a feature to modify the elementa coordinate system in FEMAP once the mesh has been created.

Also, any tips on how I can ensure that all elements have the same local coordiante system while meshing.

Thanks & Regards,

- Nagaraj

5 REPLIES

Re: Element Coordinate System align?

Phenom
Phenom

Hi,

Yes there is a way to align 2D elements' coordinate systems: go to Modify > Update Elements > Orient Plate Normal/First Edge.

By orienting the first edge (right part of the window) the element csys is switched.

However the real question is what is the use? the element csys is used for output orientation, but you can use alternatives such as material orientation and parameters such as OMID (=> f06 output will be oriented in the material axes). In other words making sure that element csys are perfectly aligned can be unnecessary, there are other ways to control output alignement.

Plus as models grow and become more complex, ensuring csys alignement quickly becomes a tedious task which is not recommended.

AP

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Thanks for the response Sir.