Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Export Results Sets To CSV or MDB

Pioneer
Pioneer

I have a large FEM that has around 120 load cases in it. About a quarter of them are Nastran analysis results that are attached from *.op2 files, and the remaining three quarters are linear combinations created from the attached results. Unfortunately, the combined cases have now pushed my model up into the 90GB range.

I would like to export the results into discrete files for each load case so that I can reference them externally without bogging down Femap. I thought about using the API script "List Output to Excel", but I am fairly convident that this volume of data will cause Excel to crash.

Is there a way to export the combined cases into individual results files that can be attached as external references? Or perhaps someone may have already written a script written to export results to MS Access rather than Excel? (I am a novice when it comes to VBA).

Thank you for your help.

Thank you

7 REPLIES

Re: Export Results Sets To CSV or MDB

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

One thing you can do, is to never create all this internal data to begin with.  In FEMAP, we have Result Set Processing Data Surfaces.  When you create one of these, there are two options, one will create the data in the database, the other creates a virtual results set can be the linear combination you're looking for -

Output_Combo1.jpg

You can then create as many linear combination results sets as you want.  No data is ever created, it's all calculated on-the-fly as needed.  Everything works just like internalized data without dragging all that data around -

Output_Combo2.jpg

Output_Combo3.jpg

Mark.

Siemens Phenom