Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linear Contact Analysis Improvement suggestions?

Pioneer
Pioneer

Hi,

I am attempting to perform a linear contact analysis on a cantilever set up. I was able to run the analysis after entering PARAM, BAILOUT -1 in the dat file (the grids on top plate wanted constraint in R2 region which is the axis about which rotation due to bending should happen)

1 Setup, BC & Loading Conditions:

Setup1.png

2. Contact Regions

contact_region.png

3. Deformation: The magnitude is excessive. Way too excessive...definitely in the Non-linear Range. 

Deform.png

4. Contact Pressure contour on Bottom Plate:

contour.png

I am not experienced enough to determine if the above looks realistic. I would appreciate any suggestions to improve the model set up so that output looks more realistic. 

More info. This is a test setup currently to get myself familiarized with contact process & results interpretation.

Thx in advnace...

- VN

7 REPLIES

Re: Linear Contact Analysis Improvement suggestions?

Phenom
Phenom

The reason why the results aren't realistic is that the modelled condition is not physically feasible. A static analysis requires a single unique equilibrium solution. Equilibrium is only possible for this case if you use glue, in which case the force (and moment) can be transferred at the "contact" interface.