cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Meshing a CubeSAT model+Lengthy post processing times

Creator
Creator

Hi all, I am a newbie.

I have problems  meshing a cubesat model...having PCBs and Transmitter Assemblies...

Please help

14 REPLIES

Re: Meshing a CubeSAT model+Lengthy post processing times

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom

Hi!,

Ufff, if not being more explicit it will be difficult to help you, post the FEMAP model here, explain your specific problem(s) and this way we can help you, OK?.

Best regards,

Blas.

Blas Molero Hidalgo, Ingeniero Industrial, Director
IBERISA • 48004 BILBAO (SPAIN)
WEB: http://www.iberisa.com
Blog Femap-NX Nastran: http://iberisa.wordpress.com/

Creator
Creator

Thank you for quick response. I attached a JPEG...

I want to do a normal modes and modal frequency analysis

But i get several warnings and fatal errors, tried to see if removing the internal mass will help, but expectedly the returned eigen modes were too low,

So i attache a node to the COG of base plate but it doesn't work.

Solution Partner Phenom

Hello!,

For the picture it seams to me that you are starting the house by the roof: in the FEMAP message area I see commands like TET meshing, HEX meshing .... if running this way "you will receive what you deserve": complex meshing, lengthy postprocessing, continuous errors ..

Not at all running the above way, you need to be smart, this is not CAD by FEM/FEA: I suggest to build first the simplest FEMAP model as much as possible, based in 1-D CBEAM elements, 2-D Shell CQUAD4 elements and 0-D CONM2 mass elements, forgot at all 3-D Solid elements at this stage.

You need to learn how to define properly joints between different types of elements, in dynamic analysis the use of mass & rigid RBE3 & RBE2 elements is critical:

• The RBE3 element is a powerful tool for distributing applied loads and mass in a model.