cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Non-linear stress strain curve definition

Pioneer
Pioneer

Hello,

I am a beginner in Femap. I have defined the following 'vs Stress' curve for a steel plastic material model:

Strain                            Stress
0                                    0
0.002 (0.2% )              300 MPa
0.2 (20% )                    500 MPa
1 (100% )                     500 MPa

I had expected that the von Mises stress results would in any case be less than (or equal to) 500 MPa for the above definition which is not the case in my model. Am I missing something in the material definition?

Best regards,

Su

10 REPLIES

Re: Non-linear stress strain curve definition

Legend
Legend

two simple answers:

-  what solver did you use? sol 101,sol 106...

- did you get plastic strains?

because I think if the property is set with the material you defined (it seems to be ok), the problem is that you are solving with the linear solver and then nonlinear issues are not taken into account

Pioneer
Pioneer

I am using advanced non-linear static type of analysis (assuming that's sol 106) and yes I got plastic strain values.

Legend
Legend

Ok. A this point and assuming that you get plastic strains, that means that the solver and property section with the appropiate material is being read by the solver. So with no more info I can not understand why you are getting higher stresses than VM. The solver should be follow the curve. 

Mabye some pictures could help to understand the problem. I supposed that the problem has converged and in the model all the properties are defined with the same material. No elastic material properties

Pioneer
Pioneer

The model has two solid components connected with a bolt (modelled as a beam element and connected to each solid using rigid spider elements). The solids are non-linear steel but the bolt material is linear steel (E = 210GPa and nu=0.3).