Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plot multiple model results together

Experimenter
Experimenter

Good morning,

I'm new with Femap I'm a just graduated mechanical engineer, I am trying to obtain the stress profile in a contact between a cylinder and a convex ring of a bearing.

The goal is try to plot the stress profile for varoius convexity.

The models seems well biulted, but I find very boring to export data in excel for every model to build a graph with multiple data from multiple model.

My question is: is there a way to plot different model results in one graph in Femap? Or maybe is it possible to have all the geometry (for different convexity) and the analysis in one model in order to have all the result data in the same graph?

Thanks for the help. 

5 REPLIES

Re: Plot multiple model results together

Phenom
Phenom

Assuming the changes in convexity are "quite small", you could use one model and one mesh to analyse all the cases.  The way to do this is to create multiple surfaces representing the different convex ring surfaces, and then adjust the model by projecting the original convex surface nodes onto the new surfaces.  The command is Modify -> Project -> Node.  Note that you can select the nodes using Method -> On Surface and select the surface(s) that represent the original convex ring.  You then choose the new surface to project the nodes onto.  Note that the nodes remain associated with the original surface even though you move the nodes off that surface.  Thus for each new case of convexity, you still use the original surface as the method to select the nodes to project.