Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pressurized Solids Bin

Creator
Creator

Hi,

I am new to FEMAP, NX Nastran, and mid-surface FEA.

I have a closed bin with multiple compartments containing small solids (~5mm in diameter). I would like to see how the bin will perform if it is pressurized.

I created a mid-surface model of 1/2 the bin, restrained the bin mounts, applied a pressure load to internal surfaces that are exposed to a pressure differential, and applied a non-structural mass region to represent the mass of the solids.

I am doing a linear static analysis as a place to start and to get a rough idea if this existing bin will work under pressure.

When I run the analysis, I am getting a very large displacement on the end-walls of the tank (30.89 inches)...which is obviously wrong.

I am not sure what I am doing wrong. Did I improperly setup the symmetry constraint, or the mass region? Or am I misinterpretting the results?

I can post the .modfem file if that would help, but it is a very large file (850 MB).

Any suggestions on how to improve my results would be very much appreciated. 

Thanks,
Steve

9 REPLIES

Re: Pressurized Solids Bin

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

I don't have seen any stress results, I suppose that also these values are enormous, you can check all the values you have used and its units. Then try to run the analysis without the non-structural mass and then compare the results. A few time ago I have done a similar analysis and I forgot to use the proper consistent dimension factor for the non- structural mass.
You can also run the analysis without the non structural mass and convert pressure in an hydrostatic pressure taking into account the weight of the material inside the tank. You will get the same results!

Best regards

AMinati

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

A few suggestions for checking:

to check plate thicknesses, use thickness/cross section display