Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with Advanced Nonlinear Static (unstable model)

Creator
Creator

Hi, Dear All

I am a FEMAP beginner user.

Kindly please help me to find a solution of the issue I had faced.

I want to analise the model shown below

01.jpg

Model have 8 connectors: 5 real contacts (Initial penetration - 2.Calculated/Zero Penetration)

and 3 contacts with gap (gap betwen bolt and holes in the sphere and wachers) - Initial penetration - 3.Zero Gap/Penetration.

02.jpg

When I use analysis type linear static I dont have  problems

03.jpg

But I want to get a result for the model in which the nonlinearity of the material is taken into account

(analysis type - 22..Advanced Nonlinear Static)

In this case, at the beginning of the calculation, I get a message stating that the model may not be stable. After about 10 minutes of calculation, I get a message about a fatal error.

05.jpg

What advice can you give? How to change the model?

My model is attached below

Thank you in advance

6 REPLIES

Re: Problem with Advanced Nonlinear Static (unstable model)

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

I think there is a problem with your material model.  You specify a very high yield stess in comparison to what you show as a yield stress in your Stress vs. Strain function.  When I switch the material to a elastic material, the model converges quickly in Advanced Nonlinear Statics.

Best Regards,
Chip Fricke
Principal Applications Engineer - Femap Product Development

Creator
Creator

Dear, Chip Fricke.
Thank you very much for your answer.

Creator
Creator

Hi

I continue to solve the problem described above. I have a few questions. If you have any thoughts or solutions, please respond.

In the corrected model  (The model is attached at the end of the repost)  for all elements assigned:   nonlinearity type - "none".