Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SOL 601 NXSTRAT Solve Parameters Definition.

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi,

I am new in to non-linear analysis and have gone through the basic math of non-linear FEA.

Based on my understanding, in SOL 106, the user defines how many steps the load needs to be divided into and then further defining how many iterations are allowed for convergence for each load step. I understand the above.

However in advanced non-linear SOL 601, the time steps options are definied slightly different and I have a question regarding the same. I am just copying an image posted by user Blas_Molero in another thread for referencing my question (please ignore the beautifully highlighted red rectangle).

nxstrat-restart.png

In Time Steps, there are two entry fields. "Number of Steps" & "Time Increment". I am a little confused about the "Time Increment" option. Doesn't Number of Steps define the time increment? Lets say the total load is 1 and if we define 10 steps, then the load is incremented by 0.1 when it starts from 0 (if my understanding is correct). Doesn't "Time Increment" become redundant?

I would like to understand more please. Would appreciate any responses.

Regards,

- N

8 REPLIES

Re: SOL 601 NXSTRAT Solve Parameters Definition.

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom

Dear Nagaraj,

Time Step in Advanced Nonlinear (SOL601) in nonlinear static analysis is often used to apply
incremental loads to help solution convergence. Please note that in a nonlinear static analysis (SOL601) with no time-dependent effects such as creep, time is just a dummy variable used for load variation.