Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Solid Bolt Preload and New to FEMAP Introduction

Creator
Creator

Hello Everyone!

To start off with I'm new to FEMAP and have been grinding my way through tutorials and examples for the past 3 weeks. I've been slowly getting the hang of it, although coming from using Abaqus for 6 years there are some big changes between the software’s. I've done a few API Stress Linearization’s dealing with simple pressure containing parts without any hiccups but now i'm attempting to run a bolted assembly with preload. On a side note I attempted to post this last night and thought it went through but it seems the topic didn’t get posted...so if there's a double post that’s the reason why.  Back to the issue at hand, I whipped up this quick  assembly to test my contact/glue/preload skills out and obviously they are not up to par. I think I’m getting convergence issues according to the one fatal error. 

Load Steps:

Step 1: Preload bolts with 51000lbf

Step 2 (not created yet) : Apply moment directly to short pipe end

Issues:

1: It seems I cannot get the model to converge

Assembly:

1: Two pipes welded to plates

2: An all thread bolt with four nuts per bolt, which are preloaded to crimp onto the plate.

1. Bending moment applied to Short pipe end.
  2. Lower part of long pipe is held. 
  3. It is a full model for right now, once i get the basics down on how to run I will be creating a 1/4 model with a better mesh. I’m still figuring out all the meshing tools, but it seems embedded face and slice are my best friends so far. 

Questions:

1: Is my approach of gluing the head of the bolt and contacting the underside (nut side) kosher? I was trying to keep the number of contacts down. 

2: Any general comments about my approach to this model are greatly appreciated as I’m still getting used to transitioning from Abaqus.