Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Temperature Loads question

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hello everybody! i am having this problem from long time ago so today i got the courage to ask you guys . (if my question is too stupid please know that i'm a beginner)

I applied a Temperature load (on nodes) of 700 degrees CELSIUS on a 1000x1000mm plate, 8mm thick  , the body load was 30 degrees CELSIUS . The plate was constrained at the top and the bottom (fixed constrains).I did a static analysis then showed Untitled.jpgelemental contour Smiley Tonguelate top vonmises stress. the material is the stock one that we find in FEMAP , AISI 4340 Steel . after i select the views i get the legend on the right side of the screen . can you help me telling what the results are in ? are they n/mm2( way too big tensions)? what are they?

3 REPLIES

Re: Temperature Loads question

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom

Dear Mike,

CAUTION!!, you have the worst problem of FEMAP, mixing units!!.

I realized of this because the material name AISI 4340 STEEL only exist in the MATERIAL.ESP file, that is the default material library, but values are in INCHES & POUNDS!!.

This means that you have a serious problem of configuration, go to FILE > PREFERENCES and set as minimum two changes: geometry & material library (see my website in the following address: http://www.iberisa.com/soporte/femap/femap_tips_tricks_preferencias.htm):

GEOMETRY: this option affect when you import any CAD model (Step, Parasolid, IGES, etc..) in FEMAP, choose "2..Millimeters" to get the length of geometry scaled to millimeters.

femap_tips_tricks_preferencias_geometry

LIBRARY/Startup: for MATERIAL choose the file "mat_eng_mm-N-tonne-degC-Watts.esp", units there are consistent to have the geometry length in millimeters.

femap_tips_tricks_preferencias_library