Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tips or help hunting down matrix stiffness errors errors in large model

Creator
Creator

Does anyone have tips for hunting down the causes of non-singular matrix stiffness errors (E5004)? Ive been running this large model for a few days with no problems, been getting results just fine, but after adding another set of plate elements to the model, suddenly I am getting fatal error E5004 every time i run. I have gone back through and fixed the zero stiffness elements that nastran alerts me to but eventually it stopped populating a list with them, it just skips the section in the output file that usually states where the zero stiffness elements are.

Im still learning FEMAP so im sure there has to be some setting or some small thing im overlooking that is causing this, but this project is under a time crunch to go through and remesh everything. I just dont get how the model can run perfectly a dozen or so times, but then be broken after the addition of some simple geometry elements.

Any advice is appreciated. I am running FEMAP 11.1.1 through NEi Nastran

7 REPLIES

Re: Tips or help hunting down matrix stiffness errors errors in large model

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

zero stiffness for newly added elements sounds like an issue with material property definition or possibly the property definition that the new elements reference.

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi McLottes,

Since you mentioned the elements were newly created, it makes me wonder if they are properly conneced to other elements in the model or constrained properly.