Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Units of measure

Creator
Creator
I'm very new with Femap and was wondering where the unit of measure is viewable. I'm using Solid Edge. Does this mean that the units are taken from the part file when imported. The numbers in the Stress Coutours on the coloured bar graph on the right hand side. What units are they displaying? Is this Mpa ? Please help

Kind Reagrds
Nev
14 REPLIES

Re: Units of measure

Solution Partner Valued Contributor Solution Partner Valued Contributor
Solution Partner Valued Contributor
Femap is "unitless" - but this means you must use a consistent set of units. eg. SI = N, m, kg, Pa. Most engineers prefer mm. If you also prefer to use N, then your consistent set of units would be N, mm, mm/sec2 (for accel), MPa, and tonnes (because F=ma). Thus, if you prefer to use N and mm, then material density must be in Tonnes/mm3. For example, steel would be 7.8e-9. SolidEdge might be using something different.

It might seem a little inconveneient, but it is simple once you know what you normally use. And I have repeatedly seen systems that claim to look after all of this for you to get it wrong once it comes to FEA!

Hope that helps.

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom