Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Solved! Go to solution

re-definable Global Variables

I am new to FEMAP, and was wondering if there is a way to define what I would call a "global variable" meaning that I could define a variable say X=5, then build my model using X, then if X were to change to say X=6 the model would update accordingly..

Is this possible to do in FEMAP or does one have to rebuild everything as soon as any base dimension changes?

8 REPLIES

Re: re-definable Global Variables

Hello!,

I am sorry to tell you but FEMAP can not use parameters in this way because FEMAP is not parametric. What you can do in FEMAP is to define variables using command FILE > TOOLS > VARIABLES.

Variables are used in FEMAP to store a numerical value or an equation with your model. Throughout FEMAP, at any time a numerical value is required, you can specify a variable, or an equation which contains variables, instead of a number. Before you can use variables however, they must first be created.

For example, if you apply a pressure load using Method = variable  and click in the button ADVANCED ....

you will see a new window where you can define an equation using the defined variables (or parameters). Here you can enter in the EQUATION EDITOR using the Ctrl-E keys of your keyboard.

If you later redefine the value of any variable used in the above equation, then the pressure loading that receive the FE model will be updated accordly, OK?.

You can use varibles to define the geometry, the FE model, etc.. but modifying the value of any variable will not cause the refinition of the geometry or mesh.

Best regards,

Blas.

Blas Molero Hidalgo, Ingeniero Industrial, Director
IBERISA • 48004 BILBAO (SPAIN)
WEB: http://www.iberisa.com
Blog Femap-NX Nastran: http://iberisa.wordpress.com/
Solution
Solution
Accepted by topic author tomr3310
‎08-26-2015 04:32 AM