cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SOL 601 Lap Joint Convergence Problem

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hello All,

I am fairly new to using SOL 601 Advanced Nonlinear Static Analysis. I am having convergence problems with the my 3D Lap Joint model.

The goal of this model is to determine the load distribution among multiple fasteners in a lap joint that has a tensile applied load as well as bolt preload.

I have modeled in FEMAP a single lap joint with one fastener, all with parabolic brick elements with midside nodes (with the exception of some wedge elements at the center of the bolt). All mesh are matching. I will eventually have the model with four fasteners. The plates and fastener are made of steel. The bolt head, nut, and bolt shaft are modeled as one piece.

Top View Lap Joint.JPG

Front View Lap Joint.JPG

Software:

Pre/Post Processor: FEMAP 11.1.2.

Solver: NX Nastran (packaged with FEMAP)

I have created contact between the two plates as well as the bolt and plate interface by creating regions based on element face and creating appropriate Connectors. I did not model friction. The connection properties are set to default.

Boundary Conditions:

-Pinned constraint at one end of the plate

-T3 Constraint (vertical) at the other end of the plate where the tensile load is applied.

-T2 Constraint (along with width of plate) at the center line of the two plates because the net displacement in the 2 Direction from Poisson's effect is zero.

Applied Load:

-250,000 psi pressure at the end of the plate. This equals 10,000 lb. I have created a linear ramp function and applied it to the pressure to increment the load because I would like to see the change in fastener distribution as the load increases.

-2006 lb bolt preload. I created the bolt preload region at the center row elements of the bolt shank and used the global Z direction for the axial axis (this is fine since I have the bolt modeled at (0,0,0)

Linear Ramp Function.JPG