Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Sol200, optimization

Hello,

I am running an optimization solution with two design variables, but after solution completed, the solution finishes after a number of cycles of 34.
Looking at the punch file, i dont understand why the optimal solution gives a values higher than the upper limit set for each variables. Does that mean that no optimal solution was found?

and iam runing a continuous optimization solution, is it possible to swith to Discrete one by just adding teh DDVAL card?

Thanks,
Engrequest
5 REPLIES

Re: Sol200, optimization

Hello,

I'm no expert on SOL 200, but I work with a couple. Can you send me the F06 file? I work in CAE product development and will ask for help from the NX Nastran development staff.

Regards,
Mark

Mark Lamping
CAE Technical Consultant
Siemens PLM Software
(513) 576-2073
mark.lamping@siemens.com

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your reply.
I have enclosed the .f06 for the solution, but bear in mind that the solve was done with the parameter Print set to 1, so the .f06 file is not too large, and therefore doesn't contain the details of all the cycles.

Please let me know your findings.

Regards,

I don't see or can't find the attached F06. Can you email it directly to me? Here are comments from one of our developers based on what you sent in your original post:

Normally the results should not include design variable values above prescribed limits, though I have identified one loophole in the past. Does this job have DVGRID bulk data in it (i.e. shape optimatization)?

I do have to see the job to understand exactly what is going on, or at least the parts with the design variables input and output. Do you believe that would be possible?