cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Identify and delete elements inside a body

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hello PLM Community,

I'm new to the NX FEM environment and would like to ask for your help regarding my problem. Basically I would like to study the effects of small damages on the eigenfrequencies and eigenmodes of structures.

The reference model therefore is an intact geometry which was already analyzed. Based on this reference mesh I would like to introduce a damaging geometry (the cylinder shown in the screenshot)

dmg_geom.png

As next step all elements inside the cylinder should be deleted (the rest of the mesh should remain unchanged). Does any elegant way within NX exist to achieve this intend?

I already played around in the FEM module but wasn't able to figure out how this could be done. Furthermore the process of deleting the elements should be automatically performed by a script, but at first it would be enough to know the general workflow to do such stuff.

6 REPLIES

Re: Identify and delete elements inside a body

Hi

try this:

1st option: manually in FEM file by deleting elements. That's the easiest way

manual.png

2. by defining output groups:

First go to PRT file, split the body (bigger cylidner). As a tool use small cylindner face. Then remesh all body and create groups in FEM file. As afilter use mesh or element related to the meshed body.

In the SIM file, create two different solution. first intact and second where you exclude the group of elements that you do not want to be exported to the solver:

optiosn.png

group.png

hope it was helpful

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hey TomekZeWschodu,

thank you very much for your fast answer. The first option (deleting the elements manually) works of course, but later when the process is running in a scripted version (f.e. parameter study) it's not possible to manually delete the elements for every parameter set.