cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Residual strain after unloading the structure

Hi All,

I am quite new with nonlinear analysis so need help in test task.

Let me explain, I have simple bracket as shown below:

mdoel.png

I am trying to get results of residual strain that remained in the structure after exceeding yield point and then unloading the structure.

I am not sure whether my approach is correct. I did SOL 106, stress exceeded 235 MPa (Normal Strength Rolled Steel - taken from NX Mat Library).

In results I can see the Total Residual Force, but I am pretty sure that this is not what I am looking for, so could you advice where I can get this and whether the SOL 106 (and Basic Bundle of Advanced Simulation) supports this?

Just for information, this is what I get under Tolal Residual Force: what those results exactly mean? :

model1_fem1.png

Thanks for help Smiley Happy

4 REPLIES

Re: Residual strain after unloading the structure

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

In SOL 106, you need at least two subcases to do this. In the first subcase, apply the loads that cause portions of the model to exceed yield. In the second subcase, remove the loads. The strain results in the second subcase are the residual strains in the structure.

Pioneer
Pioneer

Hello,

first of all thanks for showing that NX has predefined nonlinear (PLASTIC) material in the library, and with nonlinear I mean stress-strain definotions not temerature dependent definitions. I didn't know that! Is there any other nonlinear material, for expample one for NLELAST? Smiley Happy

I had a similar case, the beam from the other example, and did the following:

Solution 106,

subcase 1 load 1000N

subcase 2 load 2000N

subcase 3 load 10N

subcase 4 no load

2000N_load.PNG

2000N load

0N_load.PNG

no load