cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Solid HEX meshing

Hi All,

I am not very experienced in 3D meshes so please correct me if I am wrong.

Last time I met some problem with HEX mesh generation, I had to mesh quite simple object which was prismatic extusion but with holes drilled in direction perpendicular to the extrusion axis.

Is there any other way of meshing this than cutting the solid into prismatic solids and then mesh-mating them to get nice HEX mesh? Of course for the example is extremly easy to obtain good quality mesh. I just try to figure out easier approach for more complex geometries.

I work on NX 9.
See attached example.

Thanks ! Smiley Happy

4 REPLIES

Re: Solid HEX meshing

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom

Dear Tomek,

My suggestion is first to use command DIVIDE FACE to control the quality of the mesh around the holes using a 2-D SEED mesh, you need to set regular regions. You can do it in the IDEALIZED environment, OK?. (I run NX V10 but is valid for NX V9).

divide-face.png

Next use command SPLIT BODY to have at the end three bodies like in the picture (using option, for instance, "by plane"):

• The key next is to perform the MESH MATING command to connect the three separated solid bodies and their associated 3-D mesh. You can activate this effect either in the SPLIT BODY command in the IDEALIZED environment, or later in the FEM environment, I prefer the last one.
  • Next mesh the surfaces around the holes using command 2D MAPPED MESH, this command is critical to create an structured mesh with exceptionally quality on faces of the solid body. Here you will need to learn how to play with DEFINE CORNERS in order to create good quality QUAD mesh in faces with "more than 4 edges", give it a try, OK?. Also, do not forgot to set OFF the option "EXPORT MESH TO SOLVER" in the 2D Mapped mesh command, please note this is a 2-D SEED mesh to guide the 3-D solid HEX mesh.