Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Elements from Layers

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hello All this is my first post. I am trying to create an  API to select elements from select layers. I am new to the API and this is not working. Can anyone help get this working? I want to select the emelents from layers and store them to use later.

Sub Main Dim App As femap.model Set App = feFemap() Dim rc As Object Dim layerID As Integer Dim propID As Integer Dim elemID As Integer Dim elemSET As Object Dim aProp As Object Dim aLayer As Object Dim csysID As Long Dim printResults As Boolean Dim printDetails As Boolean Dim longueur As Double Dim area As Double Dim volume As Double Dim structmass As Double Dim nonstructmass As Double Dim totalmass As Double Dim structCG As Variant Dim nonstructCG As Variant Dim totalCG As Variant Dim inertia As Variant Dim inertiacG As Variant aLayerSET.Select(FT_LAYER, "Select Layer(s) for Mass Property Check.") elemSET = elemID.ID elemID.AddSetRule(elemSET, FGD_ELEM_BYLAYER)

elemID.AddGroup End Sub

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted

Re: Elements from Layers

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

FGD_ELEM_BYLAYER is a strange rule in FEMAP.  You do not enter an entity that is on that layer -

Sub Main
    Dim App As femap.model
    Set App = feFemap()

Dim elSet As femap.Set
    Set elSet = App.feSet

Dim feElem As femap.Elem
    Set feElem = App.feElem

If feElem.SelectID("Pick Seed Element") = FE_OK Then
        elSet.AddRule( feElem.ID, FGD_ELEM_BYLAYER)
        elSet.Show( FT_ELEM )

End If
End Sub

In this API the user picks a single element, and then that element ID is used as the seed element, elSet is then filled in with all elements matching the layer of the input element.

Mark. 

Experimenter
Experimenter

Thank you for replying!

Is there no way to select elements by layers in API?  It would just be quicker.

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom