Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Laminate Plate Error

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hello, I am a student at Auburn University working on a senior design project. I have been modeling with the student version. My team and I are tasked with designing a 30 foot pole made out of carbon fiber sections. each section has a hex cross section with 1 or two ohles on the same hex face. I ran the sections with laminate plates with properties and layups given by the manufacturer. When I saw the results I noticed drastic drops in stress between elements seen below.Error Capture.PNG

I tried a few different things to try to elimate the error like remeshing and reducing element size. I did check for conicident nodes and found none. The only lead I found is in the right hand rule element directions seen below.

error with rhr.PNGerror with rhr nodal.PNG

(The pictures are the same section I just find it eaiser to see in the nodal sloution). The elements whose RHR are parellel to the axis have significally less stress than those whose RHR are alligned in the hoop direction. I am trying to get the model to behave more realistically, so is ther a way to set the right hand rule to all be uniformed or is there another solution to get more realistic behavior?

-Jonathan

6 REPLIES

Re: Laminate Plate Error

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

When you refer to the RHR, are you referring to the material direction of the laminates?  If so, do you have consistent material direction assigned?

Best Regards,
Chip Fricke
Principal Applications Engineer - Femap Product Development

Siemens Phenom

Try aligning the your element directions by using Modify > Update Elements > Orient Plate Normal/First Edge. I would select all of them and align them by a vector. Then rerun your analysis.

This will update the first edge of the shell elements which is used as a part of determining the element coordinate system. 

Align Element Direction.png

Siemens Phenom