Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modeling fastener stiffness

Creator
Creator

I am trying to find an appropriate modeling technique for bolts.  I'm new to modeling bolts with beams to solve for bolt loads.   If I model a "stiff" bolt, my bolt shear margins are negative.  If I model a "regular" bolt, my margins are positive.  

I am modeling a 6-fastener pattern with beams for the shanks and RBE2s spidering at the heads.  The threaded end is attached to RBE2s that attach to a point mass that is offset perpendicular some distance from the pattern centroid.  Simplified, its a box (point mass) bolted to a wall at 6 points.  The wall is part of a larger structure shaped like a larger box, which is mounted to another structure.  When I apply 23g in the X direction, the larger structure deflects in X, but also rotates some about Y (due to the design).  

Model.PNGSubmodel

If I model my beam with a "regular" size diameter of 0.22 inches (0.006 m) and "regular" modulus (steel), then the total shear results have a maximum of 189.7 N shown below.  (I should mention that all of these have NO PRETENSION modeled.  Our company approach is typically to not include pretension, but model the bolts as "stiffer".  However, some here take issue with high shear stiffness resulting from the stiffer bolts.  I'm not smart enough to say one way or the other.)  

20 Regular Diameter - Regular Modulus.PNGRegular Diameter - Regular Modulus

If I increase my bolt diameter to 1", but keep my modulus the same, then my results have a maximum value for total shear of 298.59 N.

21 Larger Diameter - Regular Modulus.PNGLarger Diameter - Regular Modulus

If I model the bolts with a regular diameter bolt and then assign a modulus that is X10 greater than steel, then I get a maximum total shear of 285.21 N on any bolt.  

22 Regular Diameter - Order Mag Greater Modulus.PNGRegular Diameter - Greater Modulus

Summary of loads in Newtons: