Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Simulating how underwater pressure affects watertight enclosures

Pioneer
Pioneer

Hello,

I have designed underwater ROV which has a few sealed containers to accomodate payload etc.

These containers are rather simple and have to withstand pressure of 540 kPa (50 meters deep with 10% safety margin).

With simulation I would like to determine if they can handle this depth and what is the maximum pressure they handle before failing (probably due to buckling).

I have never used Femap before and I would really appreciate if somebody could explain how this kind of analysis should be done in Femap environment.

Is there some guides available for Femap newbies that would cover this kind of simulation or teach how to use Femap overall?

I tried to follow this tutorial, but got to a point where I don`t know where to add constraints https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7FKZEiA-rMc

Should separate parts be used in simulations instead of assemblies?

In terms of simplicity I guess I could just leave dome, bolts and cable penetrators out because there is not much extra stress on them and they can withstand that much of water pressure anyway (all 300m pressure rated).

If I would analyze only main bodies of enclosures then I could add constraints to open faces just like in that tutorial.

Or should I cut assemblies to half and then add constraints like in this tutorial?

I did search internet and forums for similar cases without much luck.

I have attached pictures of my enclosure assemblies.

Thanks for any help!

15 REPLIES

Re: Simulating how underwater pressure affects watertight enclosures

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom

Dear Margus,