Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using CBUSH with Solids

Pioneer
Pioneer

I've been tasked withdoing an analysis (random response) to help my company select isolators to use for a product we are building. I am very new to FEMAP (as in just learned it existed when assigned this) and have only used a little ANSYS for static analysis in school as far as FEA goes. From searching around, it seems like the best way to model springs, by large consensus, is CBUSH elements. However, each time I've used them, I get SEKRRS errors. They sometimes say the issue is in rotational DOF's and sometimes in translational DOF's.

The resources I find online have explained that CBUSH has 6 DOF while solids have 3. So, they say to constrain the ends in rotation, or add a high rotational stiffness. However, that has yet to solve any issues. I'm sure that this shouldn't be hard, and that I'm missing something. I found a slideshow here that showed CBUSHes between non-coincident nodes and attached to a solid, but I haven't been able to replicate it. I attached a really basic mass/spring/damper that I made which shows the error. My long-term goals for this would be 4 elements near the corners of a rectangular solid on the bottom face. They each would have vertical and horizontal stiffnesses and then I could inject PSD's into the node at the base of them. Also, I will want to do these between two solids which I would guess have to be offset so contact isn't simulated. All of this is for vibration and shock isolation. However, to start with, I'd just like help understanding where I'm going wrong.

Before I forget, I've used the grounded CBUSH macro that comes in FEMAP. That works just fine. Since I need isolation between solids, that probably won't work though. I also want to be certain that, when injecting a PSD, I am putting it into the base of the isolator, not the node that is on the part. Thanks for any help!

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Using CBUSH with Solids