von Mises Stress for Hexahedral Elements

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hello,

I’m a newbie to the world of Femap and have been wrestling with ensuring I understand what it does when it presents von Mises stresses for hexahedral elements, based on outputs of the SESTATIC solution in NX Nastran. I’m using Femap v11.3 and would sincerely appreciate any help to clarify the following:

1.    What is Femap literature (i.e. help files, reference guides etc.) when referring to "corner data"? Are these data at Gauss (Quadrature) points or are they those at elemental nodes?

2.    What is the difference between the “No Element Averaging” and “Centroidal Only, No Averaging” options in the Data Conversion section of the Contour menu within the Postprocessing Toolbox?

3.    Are von Mises stresses calculated first at Gauss points (by Nastran or Femap) and then interpolated to the elemental centroid when either option is selected? Does the same occur when they are extrapolated to the corner nodes? Or do the direct stresses get interpolated or extrapolated first, respectively, and only then do the von Mises stresses get calculated at these locations?

4.    Should the maximum von Mises stress for a specific element ID and a specific results’ set identified in an output-envelope, be different when it is extracted directly for that element ID for the identified result-set?

List->Output->Query-> element ID for a specific set of linearly combined stress results gives a different (i.e. lower) value for the von Mises stress when compared to the value identified as the maximum value obtained by Model->Output->Process->Envelope->Max value (All Locations); the enveloping identifies the element ID and set of linearly combined results that is queried for the output-list of to extract and compare.

Thanks in advance,

Nal

3 REPLIES 3

Re: von Mises Stress for Hexahedral Elements

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom

Dear Nal,