Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Question about SOL 129 (time increments and displacements graph)

Creator
Creator

Hello! I am a newbie in NX, so I ask for your help.

I don`t undesratand, what do Number of Time Steps and Time Increment exactly mean (they are set in Nonlinear Transient Parameters) in NX Nastran - Structural Analysis Type - SOL 129 Nonlinear Transient Response

I tried to make a solution with a beam (you may find a folder with files in attachment). There was one Force = 10N, a fixed constraint, Number of Time Steps = 100 steps and Time Increment = 0.05sec. I don`t understand how to interpret a Displacements Graph (a pic below). While time is going, displacements must be growing up, but they are not. Also I don`t understand why the Graph is periodic after all I made a static Force (10N) only.

Don`t Steps like Cycles of applied force?

Displacements Graph.png

Another thing which is not clear for me is why in Results I got 3199 Increments (you may see it in .sim file in attachment).

Thanks in advance!

Regards

4 REPLIES

Re: Question about SOL 129 (time increments and displacements graph)

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

SOL 129 is a dynamic transient solution. That means that delta time and damping come into play (compared to a static solution).

To answer your first question, the Number of Time Steps tells the solution how many steps to take and the Time Increment tells it how big each steps is. You model has Number of Steps set to 100 and Time Increment set to 0.05. So the total duration of the solution is 100 * 0.05 = 5.0 seconds. Note that this is the max value of the abscissa in the plot shown.