Highlighted

Surface to surface contact condition and Normal mode calculation

Creator
Creator

Hi everyone

I am studying how to calculate normal mode with Surface to Surface Contact condition applied.

0.Contact_test_Model.PNG1. Model configuration(Spaced 1mm aprt)1.Mode shape Without Contact.PNG2.Normal mode(with out STS Conditions , The Edege of the large Plate are all clamped)2.Mode shape With Contact(without Gravity).PNG3.Normal mode(with STS Conditions but not gavity applied)3.Mode shape With Contact(with Gravity).PNG4.Normal mode(with STS Conditions with gavity )4.Contact Pressure without gravity.PNG5. Contact Pressure(No gravity)5.Contact Pressure with gravity.PNG6. Contact Pressure(with gravity)

My model has two flat plates connected by spot welding as shown in the Figure 1 .

If there is no  STS Contact condition, the first natural frequency is 25.8 Hz.(Figure 2)

If there is  STS Contact condition But the gravity is not applied, the first natural frequency is 34.8 Hz.(Figure 3)

If STS Contact and gravity are applied, the first natural frequency is 120.3 Hz.(Figure 4)

if Gravity is not applied , the distribution of the contact pressure is very strange.(Figure 5)

My question is as below...

1. Why do I have so many different natural frequencies with and without gravity?

2. Assuming that applying gravity is a better condition, the natural frequency is  too high when applying STS Contact conditions.(This results is not realistic...)

How can i get more realistic results?....

3.If the STS Contact condition is applied , the plates are attached and moves together like Glue condition..

How do I get the same mode shape that Blas Molero (https://iberisa.wordpress.com/2011/11/07/analisis-de-frecuencias-sol103-de-un-ensamblaje-con-contact...) did?

(i.e. No penetration but not attached during mode shape animation)

Is it possible with Sol103?

I attached fem and sim file and please let me know if i had imposed an inappropriate conditions.