Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: 3D Solid Tool Library - NX CAM - Without TeamCenter

Creator
Creator

Stefan,

Again, I am not a programmer nor a frequent NX user, so I apologize for not following completely.

What is the difference between a library entry and a "solid tool"? Is it basically the difference between ASCII and a model file?

If I understand your second statement correctly, we would have to create the custom tool using ASCII but we could show the model file while using verification? The one thing I am looking to avoid is having programming draw the insert/inserts only (turning tool) based off a given gageline, and then have to jump into Vericut to prove out the cutting with the associated holder. This would be very time consuming and not very practical. It would be best if we could drive off the model, but if not, being able to atleast see the tool while simulating the cutting in NX would be ideal.

Thanks,

Dustin

Dustin Beaulieu
TDM Implementation Lead
TDM 4.7, NX 9.0, Vericut 7.3.1, Solidworks 2014

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor

The tool entry in the ASCII library is mandatory, you can not use a tool model directly.

On the other hand, a tool model will be automatically associated to the ASCII library entry for display purposes.

The steps and locations are outlined in the NX documentation.

Basically it resembles to the following steps:

1. create a tool entry in the ASCII library
  2. create a tool model using the library reference ID as the part name

Stefan Pendl, Systemmanager CAx, HAIDLMAIR GmbH
Production: NX10.0.3, VERICUT 8.2, FBM, MRL 3.1.7 | TcUA 10.1 MP7 Patch 0 (10.1.7.0) | TcVis 11.4
Development: C (ITK), .NET, Tcl/Tk Testing: NX12.0 | AWC 3.4 Preparing: NX12.0

Employees of the customers, together we are strong Smiley Wink
How to Get the Most from Your Signature in the Community
NX Customization - Best Practice Guide