Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Can you create a lookahead using TCL in a PostBuilder Custom Command

Can you create a lookahead using TCL in a PostBuilder Custom Command?  I am new to PostBuilder but was able to do this in the past with other post processor generators and found it very useful. 

5 REPLIES

Re: Can you create a lookahead using TCL in a PostBuilder Custom Command

There are some options. One would be using MOM_run_postprocess. Below would be a couple of related threads (recent ones)

http://community.plm.automation.siemens.com/t5/Discussion-Forum-NX/MOM-run-postprocess/m-p/319450#M4...

http://community.plm.automation.siemens.com/t5/Discussion-Forum-NX/Postprocessor-with-multiple-file/...

With this method you could create a post that saves data or writes it out while posting for use by your main one for lookahead information. I haven't needed to do this but can see where it would be nice.

NX10.03
Windows 7 Pro

Thanks for the suggestion Study.  My previous experience was working with a CLDATA file prior to MOM and from within the post I could stop at a particular point and continue looking ahead in the CLDATA file reading the attributes of each line pulling out the relevant information I required.  Then jump back to where I stopped and use the information gathered to either put out to the NC tape or use within a logical decision making process.  I typically found this to be a very useful feature so just wondered if I could do the same.  It may be that this function is not required or relevant now if I can access ALL the information from the MOM file some other way?  For instance can I find out the number of the last tool to be used, all the tool number in the whole tape, next spindle speeds and feeds ......etc.  Look ahead’s may now be redundant but it was a very useful feature that got me out of a lot of issues.