Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cutcom issues NX9 milling

Creator
Creator

Hi all,

Only my second post so bear with me please.

I have been using NX9 for a few months now in my new role. I have been on the basic CAD and CAM courses so can get by and have been programming on Mastercam for over 10 years so would like to think I am half decent at CAM.

My problem is with tool compensation. We manufacture complex shaped slots which vary from 0.5mm wide to 2mm+. These often follow a spline curve which can vary in X, Y and Z simultaneously. They also are often radiused in the bottom and the width also narrows towards the front/back of the slot (to take a swaged hypodermic tube).

In the past my company have got by with using a datum shift on the machine to obtain the correct slot width, these are often tied down to around 10 microns.

I am currently trialing using SOLID PROFILE 3D, which gives me the option to pick the side walls and follow the bottom of the wall. So far, so good, however when I choose cutter compensation, no matter how small i make the moves or angle, due to the fact I need to start or stop mid slot before I hit the narrower sections, it throws up an alarm:

"The requested minimum move or angle for cutter compensation could not be made safely, cutcom statements were output with available engage and retract moves".

I guess my question really is am I using the correct operation, is there a better one or is there something I can adjust or ensure is set to help me cut these slots without having to have seperate programs and datum shifts on the machine.

I have attached some screen dumps to try and show an example component. The slots on this part are 0.71mm wide for the back (10mm long), 0.8mm wide for the central section and 0.654mm wide for the front (10mm long). They travel in X, Y and Z and have full radius at bottom (also different depths dependant on width).

Thanks in advance.

Matt

9 REPLIES