Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Exporting tool path and tool usage to excel

Creator
Creator

Hello,

I'm new to NX and to the journal. For my final paper I have to find a way to export data about machining tools in a excel usable format. It would be best if all the operations are located in a single journal operation.

I have found a way to write in a excel file without problem but I don't know how to retrieve the data I need.

They are data such as feed rate, running time, speed of cut, spindle speed and such. The main goal of the operation is to have a history of each tool to have an estimation of the wear of it in order to replace it before it is too used. Do you know if these data are available or if I have to construct them ? And I think that I have to work with post processed tool paths but I'm not sure, could you confirm/infirm ?

Is there a sort of file wich references how to access a variable in the journal for all the (machining) variables?
I did a little bit of java during my studies and I remember there was an API with all the basic java fonction, their description and how to use them. Is there such a thing for the NX journal ? I found the programmation help but I find it a little bit too overwelming, too much information at once.

I use NX 10.0.3. last maintenance pack.

Sorry if I'm not clear in my request but english is not my first language.

Regards,

Mathieu

3 REPLIES

Re: Exporting tool path and tool usage to excel

Phenom
Phenom

Have you looked at the shop doc mechanisms? There are excel based shop docs and older style tcl shop docs they have access to the parameters you are listing.

Shop Documentation