Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GEOMETRY vs. MCS_MILL selection.

Pioneer
Pioneer

Hello,

I’ve been using NX for a few months now, mainly walking through and regenerating existing programs for similar, but different parts.  Lots of planar milling and point to point drilling being used and I’m starting to get the impression that the other programmers here like the “old school” way of doing things.  “That’s the way we’ve always done it” or “the new toolpath doesn’t work for crap” or I am offered an old weird cumbersome time consuming workaround to get some newer functionality of NX to work simply because nobody else here has taken the time to figure it out.  I don’t want to get stuck following them and their mindset (I've been down this road before) so I’m kind of on my own trying to figure a lot of things out.  My boss is pretty open minded (although he's not really a CAM guy) and just seems to want good toolpaths so I seem to have the green light from him at least to come up with whatever I want.  Why waste my time learning an old inefficient way of doing things?

That being said, I’ve kind of got ahead of myself to some extent and am having a difficult time wrapping my head around a few things.  For starters, on some toolpaths you are able to select either your MCS_MILL or a WORKPIECE under the “geometry” drop down selection box.  This is completely foreign to me.  If you select WORKPIECE then at what point and where do you select your MCS_MILL?  And why are they combined in the first place?  Could someone please explain the workflow of this.

TIA!!!

11 REPLIES

Re: GEOMETRY vs. MCS_MILL selection.

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor

Generally the MCS is a parent of the workpiece.

All the NX CAM views (program order, machine tool, geometry, method) "inherit" settings from parents to children.

If you pick the MCS as the parent, that's all you get.