Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am looking for the best procedure how to program a head bust in 5 axis (3+2) machine using NX 11.

Creator
Creator

I am using NX 11. I am looking best way procedure how to program a head bust in 5 axis (3+2) machine.

This is my scenario. 

I used mill contour for roughing (3 axis program)

2nd process plan is i will rotate the A axis into 90 degrees. then i need to create simultaneous program for the B axis. My problem is i dont know how can i provide simultineous program because I'm a beginner in NX 5 axis (3+2) programming. 

Thank you for helping me. 

15 REPLIES

Re: I am looking for the best procedure how to program a head bust in 5 axis (3+2) machine using NX

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

Hello @Chistian

Is the head bust a facet model or surface model?

Regards

Paul

Re: I am looking for the best procedure how to program a head bust in 5 axis (3+2) machine using NX

Creator
Creator
Yes it is Facet model. It is from stl file then i import into NX 11.

Legend
Legend

To point you in the right direction, read about "projection vectors" in the docs.

Variable contour is how I would do the finishing. You would want the drive surface to be a cylinder around the model. The part surface would then be the part. 

Be preprared for lots of trial and error. It can be hit or miss. Sometimes I get the path I want in 5 minutes, sometimes it takes hours. 

Glenn Balon
Production: NX 12.0.2 MP3 Primarily CAM

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom
Facet model impossible for variable contour. Fixed contour only...

Siemens Phenom

All