Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Novice

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hello,

my name is Bob and Im a production manager at a company in the Netherlands. Our engineering departement uses UGS NX 10. We have a CAM module which we use for 3-axis milling of complicated geometry. We have purchased a used 5-axis milling machine, DMU 80T with a MillPLUS control. Siemens Netherlands is providing us with a postprocessor.

Since we have been using the CAM for only complicated geometry (which rarely happened in the past) our knowledge of the NX CAM is limited. Our provider gave us a pretty basic instruction on how to use the CAM but we have a feeling it will not be sufficient when we are starting on the 5 axis machine.

Im looking for a basic startup on how to handle 5 plane milling (3 axis milling on 5 planes in one setup). Things like "how do I tell the CAM Im using a 5-axis machine", "how do I tilt the tool 90 degrees so I can mill a side surface".

So, can anyone give me some suggestions on what is the best way to start learning this?

p.s. excuse the bad spelling. My dutch is much better.

Kind regards,

Bob

7 REPLIES

Re: Novice

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom

1. You need a NX CAM training. 5 days will be enough for start.

2. After 3 days training, you must be able to create inside NX box 100x100x100 with chamfer on top face, create first NX CAM operation for milling this face and your postprocessor must output correct NC-programm for this simple case.

3. You must to find on your shop floor real al alloy block 100x100x100, vice, tool. Mount it on the CNC table, load programm and run it in Single Mode. I want be sure - you have a good postprocessor.

4. Next edge on top face, next chamfer, little bit another angle - next NC file, next chip.

5. Few operation with cutter compensation

6. Few cycles operation for drilling.

7. Next two days for training, for simultaneous 5-axis.