cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Database modification

Creator
Creator

Hello all

I added a new material to my MaterialDB following the instruction in one of the posts, but when I want to add it, it just displays 3 rows of materials, the new material doesn't even show up. Can someone help me out? 

DB_Fibersim.JPG

matl_db.JPG

Thank you and very much appretiated. 

9 REPLIES

Re: Database modification

Siemens Experimenter Siemens Experimenter
Siemens Experimenter

Hi Emma,

From your screenshots, it looks like you're using Microsoft Excel to edit your MaterialsDB.xml file. Is that correct? I can't say whether that's possible or not as I've never tried it before, but I would STRONGLY recommend just using a simple text editor like Notepad or Wordpad.

Using a text editor is easy, as each material entry is clearly tagged in the file. The quickest way to add a new material is to select an entire existing entry (all the way from the opening "<Material>" tag to the closing "</Material>" tag), and simply copy and paste it anywhere among your existing materials (but between the file's main <Application...> tags). Once you've duplicated the entry, you'll then of course have to change the parameters' values. For example, at the very least, you'll need to change <Specification> to the actual name of your new material.