Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Any efficient way to design this?

Solution Partner Genius Solution Partner Genius
Solution Partner Genius

Hello All!

Some of you might've already opened this part file, which is there in my last post also.

Basically I have to make surface sections like these (can be anything, in this case, it's an alphabet T).

There must be some more efficient way to do this.

I have to create multiple planes, multiple section curves, and multiple points (all these things are repetitive, take, for example, datum planes).

- What I want to know is can I just select all the points at one time, and get multiple planes?

- If this is not possible, can someone suggest me a faster way to design surfaces like these?

T.JPG

I'm new to NX so I'm not fimiliar with all of the curves & surfacing commands.

Thanks a million!

Regards,

Paras Raina

Paras Raina
Sr. Application Engineer | Solid Edge ST10 | NX 11
MSC Systems Pvt. Ltd. (India)
12 REPLIES

Re: Any efficient way to design this?

Phenom
Phenom

Will this work for you?

mf_t_20171128.JPG

Michael Fernando

Die Designer
NX 11.0.2.7 + PDW

Experimenter
Experimenter

try this

Solution Partner Genius

Good Idea @mike_fdo. But the only problem is sweep command. It works good for straight and curved paths, but when the path is projected onto some suface (which is actually the case for me), sweeping doesn't create smooth curves in the corners. This is why I used through curve mesh.

In any case, I'll give it a go and see if it works out.

Thanks for taking out the time on this.

@rcgI have to use the tool because later on, this shape is machined. Creating sections one by one and trying to match them with tool specifications might create some difference in the end shape. Thanks for the effort though.

If you guys have any other suggestions, please let me know. By using fewer commands, I would be able to save loads of time ultimately (no matter how small the reduction is).