Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Computer Suggestions: Issues Loading very large assemblies, TC managed

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hello All,

So it has been over one year that i have been struggling with this machine that was purchased for me by my employer. It is the top of the line offering from our tech-support company Mantech. It cost nearly $10k, it is a Dell Precision 7920 Tower, with an upgraded SSD harddrive.

Now i am a mechanical/aerospace engineer, not a computer engineer, nor a networking engineer, nor a server engineer, but something very wrong has been going on for the last year and techsupport keeps pointing fingers at different tech-support-groups and for the last year i have been tossed around between techs with everyone blaming everyone else and no one really getting anything fixed.

My problem: I am loading, on a regular basis, or need to anyway, very large models. Think full spacecraft models where the spacecraft envelope is 16' in diameter, 25' tall, and has thousands of parts. I also need to open facility models, buildings on lab that are large dimensionally, but generally don't have many components/parts.

My computer, for some reason, is insanely slow to load models. I am on an ethernet connection, hardwired to the wall. I can pull nearly a Gbps from the internet (www) but when it comes to loading these models from our teamcenter servers into a TC managed NX11 session, my task manager / performance monitor, is telling me i am rarely getting 10's of kbps. Occasionally it will spike to 10's of Mpbs, but in between these spikes, the recieve rates are reporting a solid zero bps for multiple seconds between sad little spikes of kbps.