Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Constraining to the origin in a sketch

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

I'm new to NX, and I've noticed there are two coordinate systems available when locating or constraining geometry or dimensions relative to the origin (or X, Y axes for that matter) - the Sketch and Datum.  Is it considered better practice to use one vs the other?  I'm been using the Sketch CSYS, thinking that if I copy or move the sketch later the sketch CSYS will come with it and constraints made to that will stay intact.  But maybe I'm mistaken, so I thought it worth asking here before creating a bunch of sketches based on that assumption.  Also, if you don't use QuickPick, what is the default selection?  Thanks!

OriginQP.png

10 REPLIES

Re: Constraining to the origin in a sketch

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

When new sketch is created, seperate datum csys is created as there is option 'Create Intermediate Datum CSYS' remain selected under the settings of create sketch window. By selecting the sketch > RMB > Make Datums External, It will show the new csys in part navigator above the sketch.

If you do not want intemediate sketch to be created, simply you can deselect the option in create sketch window or you can set it under customer defaults (File > Utilities > Customer Defaults > Sketch > General > Session Settings tab > Deselect option 'Create Intermediate Datum CSYS through Create Sketch Dialog')