Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drawing views, show part of an assemlby

Creator
Creator

I am fairly new to NX and am using NX10.  I have an assembly with many parts and want to a succession of views in the drawing set to show how parts are added.  I have looked at using Arrangements and Reference Sets to specify what parts show up in a view but they do not appear to be the correct way to go.  Creating a view of the entire assembly then hiding appropriate parts is really tedius and time consuming;  I'm betting there is a much better way.  Can somebody share with me how that is done?

7 REPLIES

Re: Drawing views, show part of an assemlby

Siemens Honored Contributor Siemens Honored Contributor
Siemens Honored Contributor
Were you using "Hide Components in View" to hide the appropriate parts? If not, take a look at that command. As you've probably found, you can suppress components for individual arrangements and specify an arrangement for a view. Reference Sets are applied to all views, so probably not an option in your case.

You could place components on different layers and use "Layer Visible in View" to only show the component layers you want in that view. There's also "Add View of Part" - when you insert a Base View you can expand the "Part block" at the top of the dialog and add a view from an individual part to your assembly drawing sheet.

Regards, Ben

Creator
Creator

I used Hide Components in View, but given the number and layers of parts it is quite tedious.  Does the Layer visible in View refer to the model layers or layers created in the drawing?  As far as I can tell so far it refers to drawing layers;  it would be easier to assign parts to layers in the model.  So it looks like Arrangements would be an appropriate tool to use.  So I would create named arrangements, suppress appropriate parts for each one, then specify that arrangement when creating the drawing view, correct?

Jim

Creator
Creator