Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Editing a note in Drafting forces the file to scan search directories

Creator
Creator

We just rolled out NX 10 on Monday, and I have a user who showed me that his drawing forces the search folders in the load_options file to be scanned repeatedly every time he makes a change to a text note.  Any text note.  It doesn't happen if I toggle his load options to "As Saved".

 

It's understandably frustrating because every note he edits for this revision locks up his machine for probably 2-3 minutes.  What could be causing this?  I went into Preferences->Drafting to turn off auto-view-updates and a couple other things related to loading parts when views are selected, but that didn't make the problem go away.  To me, changing the load options to "As Saved" is a work-around, and shouldn't need to be done.

 

Any thoughts?

Tooling Engineer

defacto CAD administrator

UG/NX user since 1989 (UG v6)



NX 10.0.2.6 MP1 (Native)
3 REPLIES

Re: Editing a note in Drafting forces the file to scan search directories

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor

10.0.0 or 10.0.1 or 10.0.2?  Any MPs?

Ken Akerboom Sr CAx Systems Engr, Moog, Inc.
Production: NX10.0.3.5 MP16/TC11.2
I'd rather be e-steamed than e-diseaseled


Re: Editing a note in Drafting forces the file to scan search directories

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

This sounds too strange to be real.  If you can reproduce this behavior at will and on more than one system, please contact GTAC and have them look at this.

John R. Baker, P.E. (ret)
EX-Product 'Evangelist'
Irvine, CA

Re: Editing a note in Drafting forces the file to scan search directories

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor

Does this happen to any other users wit the same file?

If someone else logs into this workstation, is the behavior the same?

 

I'd suspect...

1) NX didn't install correctly (if so, delete the files, uninstall, and re-install)

2) Dialog memory or other user customization) hosed - if so, delete folder with user.mtx/dialogmemory.dlx/etc & registry settings

- (folder) C:\Users\(username)\AppData\Local\Siemens\NX100  (unless you use ENVs to store this stuff elsewhere)

- (registry) HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Unigraphics Solutions\NX\10.0

Ken Akerboom Sr CAx Systems Engr, Moog, Inc.
Production: NX10.0.3.5 MP16/TC11.2
I'd rather be e-steamed than e-diseaseled