Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Equivalent to SE "Part Copy" in NX?

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

I'm new to NX (coming from SE) and am wondering if NX has an equivalent to SE's "Part Copy" command?  That command allows you to copy an existing part (associately or not; as a design body or construction body) into a new part file and modify it (if a design body) or use it as reference (if a construction body) for new geometry.  Very useful!

In SE I often used it to create a series of parts that were mostly the same except for some minor feature differences.  It was considered more robust than using SE's Family of Parts.

Thanks for any help.

12 REPLIES

Re: Equivalent to SE "Part Copy" in NX?

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

Part copy...At Part level or Assembly level?

Considering Part level, Use File > Import > Part, It will import the all parametric features of source part to the current part and you can modify them as per your requirement.

Considering Assembly level, Use Wave Geomtery Linker command with settings to have associative option.

Upon unchecking Associative option, Non parametric body will be created which can be edited using Synchronous Modeling commands.

Regards,
Ganesh

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

My interest is at the Part level.

Will the imported part be associative? If so, then this should work!

The Wave Geometry Linker sounds interesting also, but I'm not sure it's available in the entry level (Mach Designer) NX package (which I'm trialing). Do you happen to know ?

Thanks for the suggestions!

EDIT: