cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How To Convert User Level Customer Defaults To Site Level

Pioneer
Pioneer

I'm just beginning to work on configuring all of our NX 11 Customer Defaults. I've started with the Inch settings at the USER level through the interface and want to know if there is a way I can now convert what I currently have in my local NX110_user.dpv file to the SITE level NX110_site.dpv file. My goal is to get everything configured correctly locally, then place the SITE defaults in a common network location that everyone can access. I don't have admin privileges on this PC, so once I understand how to accomplish the conversion, I'd like to know how to get the pulldown option for the SITE level working as well, so I can then continue editing in what we want for the Millimeters side before I create Seed parts and begin some testing. Any help you can provide would be appreciated. Thanks.

Daryl Pierman
Chief CAD Designer
Rocket Shop
Aerojet Rocketdyne
4 REPLIES

Re: How To Convert User Level Customer Defaults To Site Level

Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor

To get SITE setting...

You must have the ENV variable UGII_SITE_DIR defined, and have a "startup" folder in it.

e.g. if UGII_SITE_DIR = S:\SOMEWHERE

you need a folder S:\SOMEWHERE\Startup

You probably need write access to that area as well ;-)

If you need group level settings, it works the same but set the ENV variable UGII_GROUP_DIR.

Not sure if there is an easy way to move settings from one to the other

Note the DPV file is XML data, editable in any text or XML editor, so you might be able to kluge something. You may need to check if somewhere in the data is the level (site/group/user).

Or perhaps even easier...

After getting everything set up in user area

- export to Excel

- wait the 5-10 minutes for the export to finish

- sort the excel on the "User Value" column