Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is NX9 Dimensioning a step forward?

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

I have been using NX for 15 years, and are heavily involved in training new users, and rolling out new versions.
Up to NX7.5 adding dimensions although not perfect, was at least a simple process, with MB3 allowing access to 95% of all the editing that was ever required by us. Indeed my standard line during dimensioning training is "its all on MB3".

we don't generally change arrow sizes, gaps, fonts, etc, as these are all pre set from the Seed part.

I am now testing NX9 and are really struggling to see how this is a better approach; it's certainly not quicker for those 95% of changes we make, either on button clicks or time.

As someone experienced in delivering support in a Design environment I know that I am going to take a great deal of flack over this, so I could do with a comprehensive explanation of how this will benefit us.

I work in a design environment, not software development world; do the two ever talk!

Sorry for the rant, but I have to sell this, so would be very interested in other views.

Martyn, Snr CAE Engineer, Renishaw PLC
NX10 Tc10
99 REPLIES

Re: Is NX9 Dimensioning a step forward?

Gears Legend Gears Legend
Gears Legend

I share the same feeling. Not that that is helping you much though...

I have some ER's on this...

Huysmans Metalen n.v.
2x NX 11.0.2.7 Mach Designer
on Win7 64bit
NX Beta Tester with focus on Sheet Metal
Command Finder is your friend

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi Frank

What specifically have you managed to get ER's raised for?

Regards

Martyn

Martyn, Snr CAE Engineer, Renishaw PLC
NX10 Tc10

Gears Legend

The (ESC) behaviour during dimensioning is one of them.

I just hate it that you immediately quit the dimension dialog after pressing (ESC) only once.

That used to be different. It's become my daily source of frustration. Smiley Frustrated

IR/ER 1995278