Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lost of menu configuration after deleting temp files

Genius
Genius

A workmate is complaining that he customize the options of some menus like export pdf or export dxf but when something wrong happens and he has to delete temp files he loses those configurations. Shouldnt those configurations be stored in C:\Users\*\AppData\Local\Siemens? 

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Lost of menu configuration after deleting temp files

Siemens Esteemed Contributor Siemens Esteemed Contributor
Siemens Esteemed Contributor

Hi @Javiduc 

 

Changes to those dialogs are stored in the DialogMemory.dlx file, which by default for NX 12 would be C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\Siemens\NX120.

 

It is possible to have NX save these files to a different location using the variable UGII_USER_PROFILE_DIR.  Does your workmate have this variable set and pointing to the directory where they are deleting temporary files?

Ben Broad | PLM Enthusiast | Siemens GCSS

NX (v17 - 1876) | Teamcenter (9 - 12)
Value Based Licensing | Adaptive UI | BETA Registration

Re: Lost of menu configuration after deleting temp files

Genius
Genius

No, he doesnt. We all have the same variables.

 

He also receives ocasionally "critical errors" from NX. These problems started a few weeks ago and I am starting to think that they are related to TC. Is any relation between NX menu configuration and TC? Does TC set to NX where it has to look for the customized options files?

Re: Lost of menu configuration after deleting temp files

Siemens Esteemed Contributor Siemens Esteemed Contributor
Siemens Esteemed Contributor

@Javiduc wrote:

No, he doesnt. We all have the same variables.

 

He also receives ocasionally "critical errors" from NX. These problems started a few weeks ago and I am starting to think that they are related to TC. Is any relation between NX menu configuration and TC? Does TC set to NX where it has to look for the customized options files?


Hi @Javiduc 

 

There should not be any relation between the two products, other than they might share the same temporary directory.  Can you think of anything that occurred (an upgrade? configuration change?) prior to the start of these problems?  If he's getting critical errors you should consider opening an IR with GTAC to investigate - this might be all related. 

 

Going back to your original statement of the problem - if the user is terminating NX, other than using File > Exit, it is possible that changes to his configuration are lost (though I've not yet heard of this affecting dialog memory).

Ben Broad | PLM Enthusiast | Siemens GCSS

NX (v17 - 1876) | Teamcenter (9 - 12)
Value Based Licensing | Adaptive UI | BETA Registration